Adaptive Radiation of Amphibia

We cannot imagine the existence of any organism without the environment. Organisms have to live in the environment, interact with the various beings in the environment, engage in interactions and survive by building inseparable relationships. Even the slightest change in an element of the environment requires the organism to adapt to the changed context. That … Read more

Brown Shrike-Lanius cristatus

Brown shrike(Lanius cristatus) is a passerine migratory bird of Bangladesh which belongs to the family Laniidae under order Passeriformes of class Aves. They are also known as also known as “butcher birds” due to their feeding habits. They are found in grassy areas along the hills of Bangladesh, in forests and even in scattered bushes. Systematic … Read more

Watercock-Gallicrex cinerea

The watercock (Gallicrex cinerea) is a passerine bird which belongs to the family Rallidae under order Passeriformes of Class Aves. They are found in swamps across south Asia from India and Sri Lanka to south China, Japan and Indonesia. They roam in places where there is a lot of water. They are found in paddy … Read more

Parental Care of Amphibia

There are about 8100 known living amphibians, of which nearly 90% are frogs. Amphibians first appeared about 340 MYA (million Years Ago) ago during the Middle Mississippian Epoch of the Paleozoic Era.  Frog, newts, toads, caecilians, salamanders are the modern amphibians which have various characteristic features. Parental Care of Amphibia Parental care is one type … Read more

Common Rosefinch: Carpodacus erythrinus

The common Rosefinch is also known as scarlet rosefinch which belongs to the family Fringillidae under order Passeriformes. It is found in Asia and Europe. In winter season, they are observed in southern Iran, South-east China, Bangladesh, India, Myanmar and Indonesia. In summer, they are found in woodland, forest edges very near to rivers while … Read more

Spotted Crake : Porzana porzana

The spotted crake (Porzana porzana) is a migratory waterbird which belongs to the family Rallidae under order Gruiformes. During winter, they migrate to Pakistan, India, and Bangladesh from Europe and Western Asia.Systematic PositionPhylum: ChordataSubphylum: VertebrataClass: AvesOrder: GruiformesFamily: RallidaeGenus: PorzanaSpecies: Porzana porzanaHabit and HabitatSpotted crake is an aquatic bird.  They prefer to live in wetlands rich … Read more

Reptiles: General Characteristics, Classification and Examples

image of reptiles

Reptiles belong to the class Reptilia under subphylum Vertebrata of phylum Chordata. The representatives of modern reptiles include turtles and tortoises, crocodiles and aligators, snakes, lizards, amphisbaenians and,  tuataras.  The science which deals with study of modern amphibians and reptiles is collectively called herpetology.The body size ranges from 17 mm (0.7 inches) to   6 … Read more

Amphibia: Characteristics, Classification and Examples

image of Amphibia

The class Amphibia belongs to the subphylum Vertebrata of phylum chordata. All the representatives of Clssa Amphibia are ectothermic, tetrapod vertebrate animals which inhabit a wide variety of habitats including terrestrial, arboreal, fossorial,  or freshwater aquatic ecosystems. The name amphibian is derived from Greek word “amphibious” which means “living a double life”. Because some species … Read more

Aves: Characteristics, Classification and Examples

image of Classification of Aves

Aves is a class of vertebrates that comprises the birds’ species. Birds are bipedal, feathered, and endothermic egg-laying animals. They are found worldwide, and their size ranges from 5 cm (bee hummingbird) to 2.75 m (ostrich). Among the tetrapod classes, birds constitute the largest number of species. There are about 10,000 living modern bird species … Read more

Wildlife and Its Conservation

image of Wildlife

Ecological balance is maintained when the environmental factors remain in a state of balance. If one or more of these factors are disturbed to any extent, then they may be recovered soon. But gross natural calamities like flood, earthquake, volcanic eruption, etc. destroy the ecological balance considerably and environmental organisms are liable to destruction. The … Read more