Epithelium: Definition, Characteristics, Types and Functions

The animal body consists of the some elementary tissues.  The tissue which forms a limiting and lining membrane (epithelial membrane) and covers the free surface of an organ is known as epithelial tissue or epithelium. Characteristics of Epithelium Presence of basement membrane on which the epithelial cells are set; In this case, basement membrane is … Read more

Difference Between Plant Mitosis and Animal Mitosis

The cell division is the process by which organisms generate new cells. By this process, a single parent cell divides and creates identical daughter cells. During cell division, the parent cell duplicates its genetic material (DNA) and transmits to the daughter cells.  There are three types of cell division such as amitosis, mitosis and meiosis. … Read more

RNA: Definition, Types, Structure and Functions

image of RNA

Johannes Friedrich Miescher (a Swiss physician and biologist) first discovered the Nucleic acids as ‘nuclein’ from the nucleus in 1869. Severo Ochoa de Albornoz (a Spanish-American physician and biochemist) discovered the RNA synthesis mechanism in 1959. He won the Nobel Prize jointly with Arthur Kornberg in Physiology or Medicine for his discoveries. In 1965, Robert … Read more

Chromosome: Types, Structure and Functions

image of ATTACHMENT DETAILS chromosome-scaled.jpg March 10, 2020 14 KB 500 by 214 pixels Edit Image Delete Permanently Alt Text Describe the purpose of the image(opens in a new tab). Leave empty if the image is purely decorative.Title chromosome

The term ‘chromosome’ is consisted of two Greek words ‘Chroma’ and ‘soma’ which means color body.  The chromosomes have gene bearing rod-shaped form. It is generally found in the nucleus which becomes visible during the cell division. The chromosomes also bears hereditary information.  In 1942, Karl Nagli observed the rod-like chromosome in the nucleus of … Read more

Cilia and Flagella: Structure and Functions

image of Parts of flagellum

The hair-like extended portion of the cell surface bounded by the cell membrane and containing microtubules and responsible for cell motility are known as cilia and flagella. The cilia and flagella are widely distributed in both the animal and plant cells.Flagella (singular = flagellum) are complex filamentous, long, thread-like structures that extend from the plasma … Read more

Microtubules: Structure and Functions

Non-membranous tubules are present in the eukaryotic cell`s cytoplasm. These tubules are hollow and ultrafine and their number is numerous in the cytoplasm. These tubules are made up of protein, known as tubulin which maintains the cell shape and plays an important role in the movement. Other proteins like Kinesin and dynein are also found … Read more

Cytoplasmic Inclusions

image of Cytoplasmic inclusion bodies

The contents of the cell between the plasma membrane and nuclear envelope are known as cytoplasm. It is a gel-like clear substance that contains living and non-living materials such as water, enzymes, salts, organelles, and various organic molecules. Among them, organelles form the living inclusions, and non-living substances form cytoplasmic inclusions. These substances do not … Read more

Cell Related Terms and Definitions

image of Cell structure

Biology: Biology is a branch of science which deals with the study of living organisms.Cytology: Cytology or cell biology is the study of the structure and function of the cell.Cell: Cell is the functional and fundamental unit of life.Cellular Respiration: Cellular respiration is a process by which cells produce the energy that is stored in … Read more